The Village Bureau is the first of eight bureaus in the community. Each bureau comprises three agencies, grouped based on the alignment of their roles in the community. The Village Bureau is made up of Agency 1 (Human Relations), Agency 2 (Stewardships), and Agency 3 (Business Operations). The three agencies play a critical role in recruiting participants, helping them set up a business, and giving them the tools needed to operate a successful business

Sustainable village high density, high quality housing

Due to the nature of the duties of the agencies in the Village Bureau, it has the largest number of public servants compared to other bureaus. The need for such a large number of public servants is informed by the need to closely work with participants in navigating the intricate community’s social and economic architecture.

Duties of Village Bureau Agencies

The duties of the three agencies can be summarized as follows:

Human Relations AgencyStewardship AgencyBusiness Operations Agency
Recruitment of limited partnersHelps participants start and run businessesLease equipment to businesses
ArbitrationFacilitates community’s economic balance and competitivenessProvides inventory and accounts receivable factoring
Provides living space – apartment buildings; also village squaresBuilds and maintains hubs and industrial buildings in mirrored villages 

Shared responsibilities of agencies in the bureau

Induction – Once a participant is recruited and officially admitted into the system, the three agencies have a responsibility to help them adapt to life as fast as possible. This includes training them on different agencies and aspects of the community, helping with setting up a business, and getting assistance from public servants. The Stewardship Agency advises the Human Relations Agency before recruitment by recommending some things to look for in an attempt to maintain economic stability.

Mentorship – different public servants are replaced at different times, in a way that avoids vacuums in service delivery, and provides sufficient time for outgoing public servants to hand over to incoming ones. The New public servants can count on longer-serving counterparts in their presidency or board to guide them in the initial stages of their calling.

Public servants and organization

Each agency in the Village Bureau is served by a four-member executive presidency. Each president represents a specific demographic: married men (A), married women (B), single women (C), and single men (D). The presidencies serving the three agencies come together to form the Village Bureau Board. A board is a 12-member body that advises individual presidents and presidencies and acts as an additional check and balance beyond the presidencies.

Community bylaws expressly provide for diversified membership in the community public service. They also provide for diversity in the makeup of the community’s participants. Segregated communities, such as a village, or district being overwhrelimngly populated by one ethnic, racial, or religious group are prevented to the extent that they do not represent the society from which the community draws its membership.

Additionally, each president belongs to a demographic presidency. Three presidents who serve the same demographic on a board form a demographic presidency. The demographic presidency helps in articulating issues that cut across the board and are specific to the demographic.

Executive presidencies set strategy and draw up operating policies. They also set up and monitor their respective agencies’ automated systems.

Demographic presidency ADemographic presidency BDemographic presidency CDemographic presidency D
Executive presidency, Human Relations (1)1A1B1C1D
Executive presidency, Stewardship (2)2A2B2C2D
Executive presidency, Business Operations (3)3A3B3C3D

The community has 96 villages, organized into 24 districts of 4 villages each. Each village has three village presidencies, with each presidency serving an agency in the Village Bureau, and consisting of four presidents: married men (A), married women (B), single women (C), and single men (D). Village presidencies are the operational presidencies of their agency. They implement policy, and advise the executive presidency where they spot areas in need of adjustment. Three presidencies in a village also form a bureau board. The community therefore has 96 village boards.

men (A)
women (B)
women (C)
men (D)
Village presidency, Human Relations (1)1(1)A1(1)B1(1)C1(1)D
Village presidency, Stewardship (2)1(2)A1(2)B1(2)C1(2)D
Village presidency, Business Operations (3)1(3)A1(3)B1(3)C1(3)D

Where: 1 – village number

  • – agency served

A – demographic group

A village is composed of 10 branches. Each branch is served by a branch presidency consisting of four presidents, also known as captains. Each captain represents one of the four demographic groups: married men (A), married women (B), single women (C), and single men (D). Each captain serves around 10 limited partners, including themselves. Together with the limited partners they serve, they form a group council. There are four such councils in a branch. A group council is a diverse unit, containing members from all demographics, and reflecting thesocial groupings in the community and society at large.

Branch presidencies also belong to boards. Their assignment to boards is determined as illustrated:

Branch presidencies and boards