Officing the Organizational Structure

2 min read

Four weekday mornings per week, multipurpose buildings transform into public-servant offices for the agency, district, and villages that correspond to that building, as well as for additional public servants.

Each multipurpose building is precisely the right size to contain 80 equal-sized office spaces; thus, a community’s 24 multipurpose buildings perfectly accommodate all 1,920 public servants (not including the coordinators of apartment buildings).

Each public servant occupies a specific office space in a specific multipurpose building, so all community members know where to find that function. Each multipurpose building contains the office spaces of all the public servants required to meet the needs of the district (about 3,800 individuals) assigned to that building.

All of a building’s public-servant offices fit on its first floor and in the chambers above both assembly halls on the third and fifth floors. The assembly halls are open for other uses, such as basketball courts or classrooms.

Each of the 24 buildings’ 80 offices is staffed Monday through Thursday 8:00–8:45 a.m. so that public servants can interact in person as needed with each other and with community participants, who use an app to know exactly where and when to find whatever leadership function they need.

When not in use for public-servant offices, a building’s first floor and its chambers on the third and fifth floors transform for other purposes, such as hotel rooms, labs, or spa treatment rooms.

The layout of the offices echoes the layout of the podiums in the assembly halls to show the relational checks and balances, with the trustee offices across from the agency president offices and the district president offices across from the QHSE and portfolio manager agents.

When configured for community leadership use, a multipurpose building houses the following leadership offices and personnel:

First Floor

  • 3 district agent seats (12 individual offices)—Each multipurpose building is the headquarters for a district, and the district board oversees the building.
  • 1 QHSE agent position (4 individual offices)
  • 2 portfolio manager positions (8 individual offices)
  • 1 agency president position (4 individual offices)
  • 1 community trustee position (4 individual offices) in buildings 1–12, or 1 governance agent position (4 individual offices) in buildings 13–24

Third and Fifth Floors (Chambers above Assembly Halls)

  • 4 village boards—Each district contains four villages, and each village is led by a board of three village president seats (12 individuals)